Maine OUI Lawyer

Maine Mandatory Minimum Penalties For Repeat OUI Convictions

Aggravating Factors

  • Speeding
    • 30mph
  • Blood Alcohol Level
    • BAC at 0.15 or more
  • Eluding and Resisting
    • Any attempt to avoid being apprehended  and breath-tested, no matter how minor
  • Minor Passenger
    • Anyone in the car under the age of 21
  • Breath Test Refusal
    • If you refuse the breath test, this is considered a form of resisting and suspicious behavior

First Offense Minimums

  • Jail: 0 Days
    • Aggravated: 48 Hours
  • Fine: $500 – $600
  • Suspension: 150 Days

First Offense with Refusal

  • Jail: 96 Hours
  • Fine: $600
  • Suspension: 275 Days

Second Offense Minimums

  • Jail: 7 Days
  • Fine: $700 – $900
  • Suspension: 3 Years

Second Offense with Refusal

  • Jail: 12 Days
  • Fine: $900
  • Suspension: 3 Years and 275 Days

Third Offense Minimums

  • Jail: 30 Days
  • Fine: $1,100 – $1,400
  • Suspension: 6 Years

Third Offense with Refusal

  • Jail: 40 Days
  • Fine: $1,400
  • Suspension: 6 Years and 275 Days

Fourth or More Offense Minimums

  • Jail: 6 Months
  • Fine: $2,100 – $2,500
  • Suspension: 8 Years

Four Offenses or More with Refusal

  • Jail: 6 Months and 20 Days
  • Fine: $2,500
  • Suspension: 8 Years and 275 Days

Arrested? Contact A Portland OUI Lawyer

An OUI conviction is very serious as it may have consequences beyond a fine, loss of license and jail time. Whether you are facing  your first charge or a second or third offense with months , it’s time to find experienced legal guidance. For more information about Maine OUI laws or to reach a skilled Maine criminal defense lawyer to take on your case, contact us today!

Source:

http://www.maine.gov/dps/bhs/impaired-driving/laws.html

http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/29-A/title29-Asec2411.html

https://www.pressherald.com/2017/04/30/in-maine-thousands-have-four-or-more-ouis/

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/29-A/title29-Asec2558.html