Portland Theft Defense Attorney | Maine Larceny Defense Lawyer
Larceny is the theft of personal property or, as stated in Maine Revised Statute Title 17-A, §353: “theft by unauthorized taking or transfer.” It’s a serious offense, is one that is classified as a white collar crime, and it can be charged as a federal offense.
If you or a loved one has been charged with larceny, the Law Office of Richard Berne can help you. When you have an experienced Portland theft defense attorney who is highly knowledgeable in state and federal law helping you fight the charges, you have a better chance at a favorable outcome versus paying the maximum penalties.
Challenging Larceny Charges
A person is charged with larceny if any of the following exist:
- The property that was taken is valued at $10,000 or more, a Class B crime
- The property is an explosive device or firearm, a Class B crime
- The person is armed with a dangerous weapon at the time of the theft, a Class B crime
- The property value is more than $1,000 but less than $10,000, a Class C crime
- The property is valued at more than $500 but less than $1,000, a Class D crime
- The defendant has two or more prior convictions for any of the above offenses
It’s also larceny if a motion picture is copied by using a video recording or audio recording device in a movie theater without the written consent of the movie theater’s owner. This is considered a Class D crime.
In Maine, Class A, B, and C crimes are felonies. Class D and E crimes are misdemeanors. When charged with any class, it’s your right to defend yourself against the charges.
Fighting For Your Future
The crime classification determines the sentencing guidelines a judge follows. However, there are times when a case may be dismissed or the charges can be reduced. Nonetheless, a conviction for a Class A crime can result in up to 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000. A class B crime can result in a prison term of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $20,000. A Class C crime is punishable up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. A Class D crime results in a prison or jail sentence of not less than one year and a Class E crime is punishable up to 6 months in jail.
Even if charged with a Class A felony, it is possible to fight for a charge reduction. Just because you have been charged doesn’t mean you’re destined to serve the maximum sentence.
Contact A Portland Theft Defense Attorney
If you are being investigated for larceny or you have been charged, it’s your right to defend yourself against the charges. Call the Law Office of Richard Berne today at 207-871-7770 to request a free consultation so you can learn about your rights and options.