Are you facing OUI / DUI charges in Maine? It is imperative that you contact a Maine OUI /DUI defense attorney who will aggressively fight to defend charges. Your best-bet is to contact a Maine criminal defense attorney to ensure you receive the most comprehensive advice to protect your rights and to provide for the least impact on your daily life.
At the Law Office of Richard S. Berne, we understand that for many people facing OUI charges it may be their first experience with the criminal justice system in Maine. Mr. Berne has 40 years of experience in defending individuals charged with criminal offenses and as a result is well equipped to guide them through this process.
A Maine driver can be arrested for driving while impaired due ingesting substances other than alcohol including illegal drugs, inhalants, or prescription medication. Alcohol intoxication is measured by determining the concentration of alcohol in 210 liters of breath or 100 milliliters of blood. The limit in Maine is .08 percent. Ordinarily the test is performed at the police station or county jail by an officer who is certified to perform such tests. If a person is physically unable to perform a breath test the officer may insist on blood test to determine the blood alcohol level but this test can only be performed with an individual’s affirmative consent.
Court Process For OUI Charges
A OUI charge is classified as a class D misdemeanor in the State of Maine. Prior OUI convictions may increase your charge to a class C felony.
We will carefully scrutinize all available options in your case and persue them aggressively. Among the options are pretrial negotiations to obtain a reduced charge, filing and litigating a motion to suppress the evidence to obtain a dismissal or a jury trial. The appropriate option is dependent on the facts of each which we will review with you in minute detail to ensure the best possible outcome.
A person charged with OUI faces four steps in the process:
- Dispositional Conference
- Motion Hearing
- Jury Selection and Jury Trial
Can I Drive After My OUI Charge?
Your ability to drive after being arrested and charged with OUI is dependent on several factors. Maine criminal defense attorney Richard S. Berne can explain the entire process to you and will make every effort to keep you on the road pending the outcome of your case.
When Should I Contact A Maine OUI Attorney?
Contacting an OUI attorney should be your first priority if you or someone you know has been arrested and charged with OUI. In addition to a criminal record, an OUI conviction may suspend you ability to drive causing loss of employment or worse. For example, if you are charged with an OUI that resulted in a fatal motor vehicle crash, you face potential vehicular homicide charges that can result in a prison term of up to 30 years and permanent loss of your driver’s license.
If you’ve been arrested in Maine for drunk driving, contact Richard S. Berne at his Portland, Maine office at (207) 871-7770.